New England Coleslaw’s Hot Haitian Cousin: Pikliz

pikliz

A Taste of Haiti from My Garden!

This week seems to be our week for Haitian Cuisine. I have several jars filled with Scotch Bonnet peppers from my 2015 garden that I sliced and dehydrated. I use them in eggs, chicken, cookies and now my newest creation: Pikliz. Pikliz is a Haitian condiment that my husband used to eat in Haiti by the bowl; its more of a meal than a condiment for him. I like to think of it as a spicy Haitian relative to my bland, sweetened New England coleslaw. It’s quite easy to make, the hard part is to find the Scotch Bonnet peppers. They grow great, and are a beautiful addition to any garden in the right environment. But, they are hard to find sold at market, even during summer months in the USA. I am sure you could use red pepper or habanero in place of the Scotch Bonnets, but keep in mind that for the real heat and flavor you will want to find some Scotch Bonnets!

Here’s my Concoction:
3 Cups Sliced and Diced Cabbage
1 grated carrot
1 large shallot, sliced and diced (more for more shallot flavor)
6 tsp Freshly ground dried Scotch Bonnet Pepper
1 tsp dried Thyme
1 tsp salt
1 limes worth of juice (about 2-3 tbsp)
3 cups white vinegar

I prefer to mix the veggies (dry ingredients) first, along with the pepper in a bowl then use my canning funnel to put them into a large mason jar then follow with the vinegar and lime juice. Top it with a lid, flip it around to intermingle those pepper pieces and your done!

Leave it sit on the counter for a few hours then refrigerate. It gets better as it sits : ) It lasts a month or more in the fridge without concern.

Leave a Reply

